How can a layperson tell the difference between Spanish and Galician?

The two Spanish articles are „El“ and „La“, plural „Los“ and „Las“.

The two Galician articles are „O“ and „A“, plural „Os“ and „As“.

Most football fans will know A Coruña. It is the Galician capital with the corresponding football club, which was actually called La Coruña in Spanish.

The Spanish state no longer has the „cojones“ (balls) to address the city in Spanish. So, of course, all the international institutions adapt. It is as if one were no longer allowed to write Bradford, but had to write and say Brafud.